Music 1 should not be left running. There is an automatic shut-down function in System Settings that should be enabled. If you are not working with it, close it out. Have our auto-shutdown enabled, as well.
The reasons for this are twofold. First, M1 makes a backup of your library database each day. If it is left running for many days and then find yourself in need of a restore back a day or two, there won't be one and you'll have to restore back to an even earlier time than you'd prefer. Second and most importantly, if Music 1 is not properly closed, it will ask for a re-activation code the next time you go to load it. The last thing M1 does when you close it is to set an internal flag saying "this is a licensed database." If M1 is running and Windows does a re-start, it will not properly close M1 before it does, the internal flag won't be set and you'll be asked for re-activation the next time you start it. This can also happen if M1 is running and the computer loses power.
Several times a year, we get an urgent call from a MusicONE user reporting that his database 'has been deleted'. That can be scary, but it can't happen, M1 can not delete its own database. Here's what's really happened...
With this revision 617, there is an important change for stations that use our multi-user mode and also have two or more Music 1 licenses.